Highest international Honor in Orthopaedics for Professor Alain C. Masquelet

Prof. Alain C. Masquelet, Paris is the second recipient of the Meyer Award. The award is attributed for most important discoveries, or disruptive innovations for orthopaedic patients created by a living individual or group. The award is endowed with a prize sum of 100.000 Swiss Francs.

The Meyer Award (meyeraward.org) is the only award in musculoskeletal medicine, which is attributed by an independent, multinational Jury and thereby the most prestigious honor in musculoskeletal medicine.

The 2024 winner is Prof. Alain C. Masquelet, Paris, who is honored for his pioneering concepts and innovations in the reconstruction of soft tissue and bone defects using the biological potential of the patient’s own tissue. Watch the announcement video here!

The Award has been created by the ResOrtho Foundation in memory of Dominik C. Meyer, orthopaedic surgeon at the Department of Orthopaedics at Balgrist University Hospital in Zürich. The Jury has been selected by the most important international, professional societies: The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS), The European Federation of National Associations of Orthopaedics and Traumatology (EFORT) and Swiss Orthopaedics each select and appoint 2, the Japanese Orthopaedic Association (JOA), the Australian Orthopaedic Association (AOA) and the ResOrtho Foundation 1 Jury member.

The ResOrtho Foundation thanks the international societies and their Jury members for their participation and takes pride in congratulating Prof. A.C. Masquelet for his unique contribution to orthopaedics.

The official Meyer Award Ceremony will take place at the Annual Meeting of the EFORT on May 22-24, 2024, in Hamburg.